Getting Ready

5 Apr

During everyone’s visit to Dalewood Middle School my group met with the art teacher, Michel Belknap, who we will be helping and working with during CreateAthon. Half of the group will be working on a gallery space in the classroom and the other will be working on a digital gallery.

All of this makes me realize: CreateAthon is almost here, this weekend all the collaboration will finally be brought together in our 24 hour design marathon. All the time everyone has put into this project continues to inspire and I’m ready to pull up my sleeves and get some serious design-goodness done. Designing for a good cause is one thing, designing with wonderful people in such a large group is even better.

I have noticed as these weeks have gone by my attitude and willingness to risk my already weird sleep schedule is changing. I admit to living in my own bubble of society and though it isn’t a small bubble I was blind to the school systems around me. I’m 21 years old and have no children. My extended family is lives in Ohio and with them my younger cousins. I have very little experience dealing with younger children. So it isn’t all that surprising my knowledge of elementary schools and up was lacking.

After watching Waiting for Superman and The Lottery my understanding of education in the USA was drastically changed.

It is no longer about my needs or wants, it is all about a middle school filled with kids who have so many futures in front of them.

Leave a Reply

