The Visit

5 Apr

 

We're excited to uncover the building's potential. Could this be space for an art garden?

I’m so excited about CreateAthon! I know it’s going to be great. It’s hard to believe it is coming up so soon! It has been so great to work with such passionate and motivated people. We had the pleasure of visiting Dalewood Middle to tour and get our design juices flowing. We spoke with the art teacher, Michel Belknap. She is fantastic. With all of its challenges, it is great to see teachers and faculty who are passionate about teaching their students. During our visit, Michel gave us insights on her ideal use of the art space and her hopes for her students. After watching The Lottery and Waiting for Superman, I am much more conscious about the state of our schools.

I was shocked to see some of the challenges in our school systems, even here in Chattanooga. I was fortunate enough to go to a school that I thought wasn’t all that bad. I have learned that it is our responsibility as a community to set an example for our students, to provide them with the education and resources that they deserve. I know it’s cliché to say “the students are our future,” but hey, it’s true. If we all chip in, and show our support for our local schools, we can make a positive impact. That was my ah-ha moment.

Now, I’m geared up and ready for this weekend. I can’t wait to get started, get to know these students and hopefully make a difference in the life of a child. If I’ve done that, I’m satisfied. Let’s do this!

Leave a Reply

